News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

Uddhav Thackeray’s new bet after the order of the Election Commission – suggest these three names and symbols

Amid the ongoing debate in the Uddhav Thackeray and Eknath Shinde camp over Shiv Sena’s name and symbol, the Election Commission confiscated the Shiv Sena name and its symbol ‘arrow-arch’. After this, Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackeray camp has given a list of three names and symbol for the upcoming by-election in Mumbai’s Andheri East.

‘Shiv Sena Balasaheb Thackeray’ is the first choice for the party name of the Uddhav camp, while ‘Shiv Sena Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray’ is the second choice. The same third name has been given as ‘Shiv Sena Balasaheb Prabodhankar Thackeray’. The first choice for the election symbol is ‘Trishul’ and ‘Ugte Suraj’ is the second choice. The third choice for the symbol is given as ‘Torch’.

It is worth noting that in these names, the name of Balasaheb Thackeray has been used on behalf of the Uddhav camp.

Shiv Sena got the permanent election symbol ‘Dhanush and Arrow’ in the year 1989, before that ‘Sword and Shield’, ‘coconut tree, railway engine, cup and plate’ were contested on many election symbols.

In the backdrop of claims by both the factions on the name and symbol of the party, the Election Commission has issued an interim order asking both of them to suggest three new names and symbols for their respective parties by Monday. The commission will allow them to use either of the names and election symbols suggested by the two factions.

The Commission has issued an interim order on the request of the Shinde faction in the event of the by-election for the Andheri East assembly seat nearing.

Eknath Shinde had rebelled against the Uddhav Thackeray government. After this Shinde joined hands with the BJP and formed a new government in Maharashtra. In the new government, Eknath Shinde was made chief minister, while BJP’s Devendra Fadnavis was made deputy chief minister. Since then, while Shinde camp is claiming Shiv Sena on one hand, on the other hand Uddhav Thackeray camp is also laying claim on it.

According to the interim order of the Election Commission, both the camps will now have to choose new names. They will be allotted different election symbols.

Earlier, the commission had asked both the groups to submit all documents and evidence of legislative and organization support by August 8 in support of their respective claims. However, this period was later extended to October 7 at the request of the Thackeray faction.

After the Shiv Sena split in June, both the factions, claiming themselves to be the “real Shiv Sena”, had requested the Election Commission to allot the party’s name and symbol to them.