News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

Gujarat Election: Shock to Congress in Gujarat, 11-time MLA Mohan Singh Rathwa resigns, joins BJP

Before the 2022 Gujarat assembly elections, the Congress party has suffered a major setback. Mohan Singh Rathwa, an 11-time MLA from Chhota Udaipur, has resigned from the Congress and joined the BJP. It is being said that Rathwa was running angry with the party for the past several days. Earlier in the month of May also, Rathwa had spoken of not contesting the elections.

Rathwa says that he has become old now and wants to give a chance to the youth. It is also being said that Mohan Singh now wants to hand over power to his son Rajendra Singh Rathwa, who has been active in politics for some time. In an interview given to ABP’s Gujarati channel ABP Asmita, he had clearly said that he has been representing the assembly continuously for the last 55 years. Now their feeling is that new faces and especially youth should come into politics in Gujarat. Those who have been becoming members of the Vidhan Sabha for years should now happily pave the way for the youth.

Veteran leader and 11-time MLA Mohan Singh Rathwa has been winning from here since 2012. Now Rathwa has announced his retirement and is asking for a ticket for his son. However, Congress Rajya Sabha MP Naran Rathwa is also in the fray for his son.

Chhota Udaipur tribal dominated area

In the politics of tribal-dominated Chhota Udaipur, Congress has maintained itself strong for years with the trio of Mohan Singh Rathwa, Narayan Rathwa and Sukhram Rathwa, but in the 2022 elections, this trio of Rathwa leaders will not be seen in the main contest. 11-time MLA Mohan Singh Rathwa has announced not to contest the elections, while former Minister of State for Railways Narayan Rathwa is currently a Rajya Sabha MP, while Sukhram Rathwa is the Congress Leader of Opposition in Gujarat. There is talk of Sukhram Rathwa not contesting the elections.