News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

Biennial Election to the Bihar Legislative Council by the members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) – Polling on 6th July 2020

The term of nine members of Bihar Legislative Council elected by the members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) has expired on 06.05.2020. Details are given as under:


Name of the Member

Date of Retirement


Ashok Choudhary






Krishan Kumar Singh


Prashant Kumar Shahi


Sanjay Prakash


Satish Kumar


Radha Mohan Sharma


Sonelal Mehta


Md. Haroon Rashid


Hira Prasad Vind

Considering the prevailing unforeseen situation of public health emergency due to COVID-19 and the guidelines & orders passed under the Disaster Management Act, 2005 by the competent authority, the Election Commission, on 03.04.2020 passed an Order under Article 324 of Constitution of India read with section 16 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951,and directed that the process of election to the above mentioned seats shall be initiated at a later date after reviewing the prevailing situation.

The Commission, after receiving inputs from CEO, Bihar, has now decided that above mentioned biennial election to the Bihar Legislative Council by members of Legislative Assembly be held in accordance with the following programme:

S. No. Events Dates
Issue of Notification 18th June, 2020 (Thursday)
Last Date of making nominations 25th June, 2020 (Thursday)
Scrutiny of nominations 26th June, 2020 (Friday)
Last date for withdrawal of candidatures 29th June, 2020 (Monday)
Date of Poll 06th July, 2020 (Monday)
Hours of Poll 09:00 am to 04:00 pm
Counting of Votes 06th July, 2020 (Monday)at 05:00 pm
Date before which election shall be completed 08th July, 2020 (Wednesday)

Adequate measures for close monitoring of the election process by appointing observers shall be taken to ensure free and fair election.

Commission has also directed the Chief Secretary of the State to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the elections.