News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

Himanta Biswa Sarma takes oath as Assam 15th Chief Minister

Today Himanta Biswa took oath as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam. Governor Jagadish Mukhi administered the oath.

After the oath-taking ceremony, Sarma said he aimed to make Assam one of the top five Indian states in five years. He also appealed the ULFA(I) chief Paresh Barua to abjure violence, come to the discussion table

Sarma, clad in traditional ‘pat silk’ dhoti and kurta with a muga ‘gamosa’ draped around his neck, took the oath of office and secrecy in Assamese. Along with him, 13 other legislators were also sworn-in as ministers amid strict COVID-19 protocols.

Among the MLAs sworn-in, 10 from the BJP, including state party president Ranjeet Kumar Dass and ministers of the outgoing government Chandra Mohan Patowary, Parimal Suklabaidya, Jogesh Mohan and Sanjay Kishan. The new faces as ministers were Ranoj Pegu, Bimal Borah and the only woman in the cabinet, Ajanta Neog.