News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

Uttar Pradesh : Polling for Panchayat by-elections in UP

Voting is going on from 7 am today for the election to various vacant posts in three-tier panchayats in Uttar Pradesh. Polling being held at polling stations in 73 districts of the state will continue till 6 pm. Polling is going on everywhere except Lalitpur and Kasganj. There are strict instructions to follow the COVID protocol everywhere. After voting today, the counting of votes will take place on June 14. According to the State Election Commission, polling will be held for 128 posts of village heads, six of Zilla Panchayat members, 137 of Kshetra Panchayats and 14,179 vacancies in Gram Panchayats. Due to uncontested election on one of the seven vacant posts of district panchayat members, six will be selected by votes. In this sequence, out of the total 186 vacant posts of Kshetra Panchayat members, voting will be held on 137 posts after 44 are elected unopposed.

Out of 156 vacant posts of village heads, 26 were elected by consensus. Out of 2,27,504 vacant posts of Gram Panchayat members, there was no need for elections after withdrawal of nominations on 2,06,941. Voting will be held in the remaining 73 districts except Lalitpur and Kasganj in the state. For this time’s by-election in the state, measures have been taken to prevent corona infection along with security arrangements at 8321 polling places.

By-elections are being held on 158 seats in Lucknow district, including one seat each for the post of Pradhan in Sarojininagar and Mohanlalganj. In Sarojininagar also, the process of election for the post of BDC is also being done. Apart from this, voting is going on for the post of member area panchayat in 155 seats. Tight security arrangements have been made at every polling station.

Voting is underway for the vacant posts of Panchayat elections in Ayodhya. Voting is going on for 161 posts here. These include elections on 3 village heads, 4 BDCs and 154 panchayat members. 66 polling stations have been set up in 9 blocks of the district. The SDM Tehsildar is the zonal magistrate, while 14 sector magistrates have been posted.
Voting is being held today for the election of vacant BDC and Gram Panchayat member posts in Sonbhadra district. Elections are being conducted for 7 posts of Kshetra Panchayat Member (BDC) and 154 vacant posts of Gram Panchayat Member in the district. Elections will be held today from 7 am to 6 pm amid tight security arrangements. The duty of 332 personnel is engaged in the election. Apart from this, the duty of 21 Sector Magistrates has been imposed.

Polling for Panchayat by-elections began on Saturday in 332 booths of Rae Bareli. Around 1.50 lakh voters will decide the fate of over 350 candidates.

In Agra, 43,957 voters are exercising their franchise for 160 posts. In 54 gram panchayats, 156 gram panchayat members, three pradhans and one kshetra panchayat member are being elected. There were 2704 nominations for 2239 vacant posts of Gram Panchayat member, election has been held unopposed for 2083 posts. One of the four vacant posts of village head has been elected unopposed.
In Aligarh, 74 thousand voters are voting in 155 booths under the supervision of zonal and super zonal magistrates. A total of 421 posts are being held in 123 panchayats. 155 booths have been made. Voting will also be held for two BDCs and one head post.