News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

India will look to win the series by retaining the dominance of Sri Lanka

India’s youngster will once again try to clinch the series against Sri Lanka in the second one-day international match against Sri Lanka here on Tuesday. In the first ODI for India, captain Shikhar Dhawan held one end while Prithvi Sauv, Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav scored easily at the other end to give the team a one-sided victory by seven wickets.

India are looking to play aggressively in the shorter format keeping the T20 World Cup in mind and Sauv, Ishan and Suryakumar lived up to the expectations in this regard. His good performance also shows India’s strong batting. Ishan and Suryakumar, playing their first ODI, were dominating with the very first ball. Sri Lanka’s bowling was also not impressive as India registered a victory in the 37th over itself.

India will hardly make any changes in their playing XI as they would like to give chances to other youngsters in the third ODI after winning the series. Only Manish Pandey’s place seems to be in danger, who scored a struggling 26 off 40 balls. Sauv made some decent strokes in his return match but he could not make a big score. He would like to make up for it in the second match.

After a long time, spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal were seen bowling together. They proved again that they do well as a pair. The spinners bowled most of the overs and even then all-rounder Hardik Pandya also raised hopes by scoring five overs. Senior fast bowler Bhuvner Kumar could not make an impact. He will also try to make up for it in the next match.

If Sri Lanka has to win the match, then its players have to give their best. This inexperienced team has shown that they have the talent to pose the challenge but they have to learn to win. Most of the batsmen started well but they could not convert it into big scores. He will have to play big innings to challenge India.
The bowlers will also have to put in extra efforts only then they can put pressure on India’s strong batting. Both the teams would prefer to chase the target on this slow pitch as the later pitch seemed more conducive to batting.

The teams are as follows:

India: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Sauv, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Krishnappa Gautam, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakraborty, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Chetan Sakaria, Navdeep Saini.

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjay de Silva, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapakse, Pathum Nisanka, Charit Aslanka, Vanindu Hasaranga, Asheen Bandara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Udara, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chamira, Akila Dhananjakan, Lakshmantha Sanda Shiran Fernando, Dhananjay Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Praveen Jayavikrema, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajita, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana.

The match will start at 3 pm Indian time.