News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

Yuki Bhambri to take on the challenge of Delhi Binny Brigade in Tennis Premier League

The Delhi Binny Brigade team’s challenge will rest on the strong shoulders of top singles player Yuki Bhambri in the third edition of Tennis Premier League (TPL) to be held at Mumbai’s Celebration Club Andheri from December 9 to 14 this year.

This was announced by TPL co-founders Kunal Thakur and Mrinal Jain at a press conference held at DLTA on Saturday. On this occasion, Delhi team mentor Ankita Bhambri, former Davis Cup and Fed Cup coach Nandan Bal and Chennai Stallions team mentor Zeeshan Ali, Davis Cup coach and captain Rohit Rajpal and Indian team captain above 35 years of age and Delhi team’s captain were present on the occasion. Member Aditya Khanna and Delhi team member Yuki Bhambri were present. Team owner Sneh Patel of Delhi Binny team and Shailesh and Sonal Alagiya of Chennai Stallions team were also present on the occasion.

Former junior world number one player and 2009 Junior Australian Open champion and a member of the Indian Davis team for years, Yuki will be accompanied by Manish Sureshkumar and Thailand’s Peangtaran Plepiak in the Delhi squad. The teams in the third edition include Mumbai Leon Army, Chennai Stallions, Bengaluru Spartana, Hyderabad Strikers, Rajasthan Tigers, Gujarat Panthers and Pune Jaguars apart from Delhi Binny Brigade.
In the players’ auction held in Mumbai in March this year, Ramkumar Ramanathan was bought by the Mumbai team with the highest price of Rs 4.5 lakh. Prajnesh Gunneswaran was bought by Rajasthan for three lakh 70 thousand, Saket Myneni was bought by Pune team for four lakh 40 thousand, Divij Sharan was bought by Gujarat for four lakh 10 thousand and Purav Raja was bought by Chennai for three lakh rupees. International women players will also enter the Tennis League.

Among the women players, Ankita Raina was bought by the Hyderabad team for the highest price of Rs 4 lakh 10 thousand, while Rituja Bhosle was bought by the Pune team for Rs 3 lakh. Each team consists of two men and one woman player. One male and one female player for each team will be selected from Talent Days. More than 250 players have registered themselves for Talent Days for Delhi team. Kashish Bhatia won the women’s event while runner-up Prerna Bhambri will play for the Chennai team.