News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

Congress President’s election concluded, 96% voter turnout, 9500 people cast their votes, results will come on 19

New Delhi. Voting for the post of Congress President ended on Monday. Polling stations were set up at 65 places along with the headquarters of the All India Congress Committee, where the delegates cast their votes. Mallikarjun Kharge and Shashi Tharoor are facing each other for the post of President. Congress Central Election Authority President Madhusudan Mistry gave information about the voting by holding a press conference. He told that in the voting for the Congress National President, 9,500 delegates voted today. Overall, 96% of the voting took place in the states. No untoward incident took place during this period. 3 ballot boxes have been received. Also, he told that 87 people voted in the AICC headquarters.

Madhusudan Mistry told that 87 delegates including Sonia Gandhi, Manmohan Singh voted in the Congress headquarters. Party President Sonia Gandhi, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, former Congress President Rahul Gandhi and many other senior leaders cast their votes. After voting, Sonia Gandhi said that she was waiting for this day for a long time. Sonia Gandhi, Manmohan Singh and Congress General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra cast their vote at the Congress headquarters here.

Rahul Gandhi casts his vote in Bellary

Rahul Gandhi casts his vote at a polling booth set up in a container rest camp for ‘Bharat Jodo Yatra’ in Bellary, Karnataka. Along with him, about 40 leaders also voted there, who are ‘Bharat Yatris’ with him in this journey. “I was waiting for this day for a long time,” Sonia Gandhi said in response to questions from reporters here ahead of voting. Senior leader P. Chidambaram was the first to vote at the party headquarters. He was followed by party general secretaries Jairam Ramesh, Ajay Maken, Mukul Wasnik, senior leaders Ambika Soni, Vivek Tankha and many others.

Rahul Gandhi casts his vote at Sanganakallu booth near Ballari - The Hindu

We have had elections in a free, fair and transparent manner- Madhusudan Mistry

Amid polling, the party’s Central Election Authority chief Madhusudan Mistry told PTI that the entire process of the election has been free, fair and transparent and he is satisfied with it. After voting at the Congress headquarters, Jairam Ramesh told reporters, “This is a historic occasion. We have had elections in a free, fair and transparent manner.” He said, “Congress is the only political party where elections are held for the post of president. We have Madhusudan Mistry as the head of the Central Election Authority like TN Seshan. There is no election in any other party.

Shashi Tharoor and Mallikarjun Kharge wish each other

Tharoor tweeted, ‘Spoke to Mallikarjun Kharge this morning and wished him the best and expressed respect for him and the shared dedication of both towards the success of Congress.’ Kharge tweeted and said, ‘My best wishes to Shashi Tharoor ji. Spoke to him today. Both of us are fighting for the strength of the Congress, so that a stronger and better nation can be built for the future generations.’ were eligible to vote. Voting took place at about 68 polling booths, including the Congress headquarters.

Election held for the sixth time in 137 years

For the sixth time in the 137-year history of the Congress party, elections have been held for the post of president. According to party general secretary Jairam Ramesh, elections for the post of president have been held in 1939, 1950, 1977, 1997 and 2000. Elections are being held for the post of President after full 22 years. The results of the elections will be announced on October 19. Calling upon the electors to show courage to “adopt change”, Tharoor had on Sunday said the changes he was thinking of would not change the “values” of the party and would only be aimed at achieving the goals. There will be a change in methods.