News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

Rebellion in BJP before Gujarat assembly elections; 5 leaders threatened to contest independent elections

At least one sitting MLA and four former MLAs of the party, upset over the denial of tickets by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the Gujarat Assembly elections, have threatened to contest as independent candidates. Voting for the Gujarat Assembly elections will be held in two phases on December 1 and 5. Some disgruntled party leaders have said they will take their next step after consulting their supporters, but former BJP MLA Harshad Vasava on Friday filed his nomination papers as an independent candidate from the Nandod (Scheduled Tribe reserved) seat. Gave.

It is noteworthy that Harshad Vasava is the President of the Scheduled Tribe Morcha of the Gujarat unit of the BJP and had represented the erstwhile Rajpipla seat from 2002 to 2007 and from 2007 to 2012. Congress is currently holding the Nandod seat in Narmada district. BJP has fielded Dr. Darshan Deshmukh from this seat. Unhappy with this announcement, Harshad Vasava resigned from his post in the BJP and filed his nomination papers for the Nandod seat on Friday.

After filing his nomination papers, Vasava told reporters, “There is real BJP and fake BJP here. We will expose those who have sidelined committed workers and given important positions to newcomers. I have sent my resignation to the party. People of this area know how much work I have done as MLA between 2002 and 2012. In neighboring Vadodara district, a sitting and two former BJP MLAs are angry with the party for not giving them tickets.

Madhu Srivastava, a six-time MLA from Waghodia, after being denied a ticket, said he would contest as an independent if his supporters wanted. BJP has fielded Ashwin Patel from this seat. Dinesh Patel alias Dinu Mama, another former BJP MLA from Padra seat in Vadodara district, has also said that he will contest as an independent candidate. BJP has given ticket to Chaitanya Singh Zala from this seat. Congress is holding this seat.

In Karjan, former BJP MLA Satish Patel is unhappy with the decision to give ticket to sitting MLA Akshay Patel. To handle the situation, BJP’s state unit general secretary Bhargav Bhatt and minister of state for home Harsh Sanghvi visited Vadodara on Saturday and met local party workers. Bhatt expressed confidence that the BJP would win all the seats in Vadodara.

Meanwhile, Arvind Ladani, former BJP MLA from Junagadh’s Keshod seat, on Saturday announced that he will contest as an independent candidate as the party has given ticket to sitting MLA Devbhai Malam. The BJP has so far declared the names of candidates for 166 out of the total 182 assembly constituencies.