News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

Bhuvneshwar Vice-Captain will take over the captaincy in Sri Lanka tour

Left-handed opener Shikhar Dhawan will captain India’s limited overs team in the upcoming tour of Sri Lanka while pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be the vice-captain. India’s Test team is currently in England for the ICC World Test Championship final and then the five-match Test series against England, so it was a good opportunity to try new players. India are scheduled to play three ODIs and three T20Is in this limited overs tour of Sri Lanka. National Cricket Academy (NCA) chief and former India captain Rahul Dravid will travel to Sri Lanka in July with the India A team as head coach. The team’s coaching staff will also include fellow NCA members.

Devdutt Padikal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Nitish Rana and Chetan Sakariya have been selected in the Indian team due to their good performances in IPL 14. Karnataka and Chennai Super Kings player Krishnappa Gautam has also been selected.

Prithvi Shaw, Manish Pandey and Sanju Samson have also been selected in the team. Shaw has been in excellent form after being dropped from the Indian team and is set to open with Dhawan. Varun Chakravarthy, the mysterious spinner from Tamil Nadu and Kolkata Knight Riders, has been picked in the squad for the tour.

Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gautam, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakraborty, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice Captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakaria,
Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjit Singh.