News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

Mallikarjun Kharge appointed new president of Congress

Congress has finally got its new president. 80-year-old Mallikarjun Kharge has been elected the new President of Congress. Kharge defeated Shashi Tharoor by a huge margin in a straight contest. Mallikarjun Kharge got 7897 votes, while Shashi Tharoor got only 1072 votes. A total of 9497 votes were cast in the election of the President. This time no member from the Gandhi family was involved in the race for the post of president. This is the first time in the last 24 years that a leader from outside the Gandhi family has reached the post of president. Earlier, Sitaram Kesari was such a president, who was not from the Gandhi family.

The celebration of Kharge’s victory has started outside the Congress headquarters. Kharge’s supporters are celebrating his victory with drums. After the victory, leaders like Sachin Pilot, Gaurav Gogoi, Tariq Anwar have arrived to meet Kharge. Apart from these, a large number of workers have reached his house. Shashi Tharoor, who is contesting against Kharge, also congratulated him for his victory. Tharoor tweeted, “It is a matter of great honor and great responsibility. I wish Kharge ji all the success in his work.” Apart from this, Kharge also thanked the Congress leaders for the support they got.

Political career of Mallikarjun Kharge
Mallikarjun Kharge is one of the senior most leaders of the Congress. He is 80 years old and has been in active politics for many decades. Kharge is considered very close to the Gandhi family. Kharge hails from Bidar in Karnataka. He has studied BA and LLB and has also been a lawyer by profession. Kharge first became the President of Gulbarga City Congress in Karnataka in 1969. After this, elected for the first time in 1972 and went to the assembly. From then till 2009, he was an MLA for a total of 9 times. In 1976, he became a cabinet minister in Karnataka for the first time. Kharge was appointed as the Vice President of Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee in 1988. In 2005, he became the President of Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee. After that he held many big positions.