News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

Results of by-elections for 7 assembly seats in 6 states declared

The results of the by-elections for 7 assembly seats in 6 states have been declared. The battle for prestige was fought in Bihar and Telangana while the family legacy was at stake in Haryana.

The BJP has won in Gola Gokarnath in Uttar Pradesh, Adampur in Haryana and Gopalganj in Bihar. The saffron party has also won the Dhamnagar seat of Odisha. Tejashwi Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal has registered victory in Mokama, Bihar. In Munugode, K Chandrashekhar Rao’s party Telangana Rashtriya Samiti has won. Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena faction has won the Andheri East seat in Mumbai.

This is the first election in Bihar since Nitish Kumar revived the alliance with Tejashwi Yadav’s RJD. RJD candidate Neelam Devi, wife of Anant Singh, who was disqualified for illegally possessing guns, has won from Mokama. In Gopalganj, Kusum Devi defeated Mohan Gupta of RJD by 2183 votes in the last round. In Gopalganj, BJP was ahead by 70053 votes.

In Haryana, Adampur, the family seat of former chief minister Bhajan Lal, will decide whether his grandson Bhavya Bishnoi can carry on the legacy of 68 years after switching from Congress to BJP. Bhavya’s father Kuldeep Bishnoi had resigned as the Adampur MLA, leading to a by-election here.

This time Shiv Sena candidate Rituja Latke has won the Andheri East by-election. There, NOTA got the second highest number of votes, there was no candidate from any major party against Rituja Latte. The BJP withdrew its candidates. This was the first electoral battle in Maharashtra after the Shiv Sena split into two.

The ruling TRS has won by a huge margin of over 10000 votes against the rival BJP in Munugode, Telangana.

The ruling regional party BJD was also facing the BJP in Odisha’s Dhamnagar. The BJP won it last time but the by-election was held due to the death of MLA Vishnu Charan Sethi. The BJP has fielded Sethi’s son here. They have won this election.

This was the first election in Bihar after Nitish Kumar broke away from the BJP alliance. Mokama seat was earlier occupied by NDA, while Gopalganj seat was with RJD. From Mokama seat, BJP had entered the fray for the first time, because before that it had given this seat to its allies.

In its stronghold UP, the BJP has retained the Gola Gokarnath seat. The seat fell vacant after the death of BJP MLA Arvind Giri on 6 September.

Over 93 per cent of the total 2,41,805 voters exercised their franchise during the Munugode assembly bypoll in Telangana on Thursday. According to the information released from the Chief Electoral Officer’s office late on Thursday, a total of 93.13 per cent voting was recorded in addition to 686 postal ballots.

In the by-elections, regional parties want to form a united front for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, which is just a year and a half away. Based on the results of the by-elections, he will decide the strategy against the BJP.