News Cubic Studio

Truth and Reality

16 States / Union Territories received 100 percent food grains for May, 2021 under PMGKAY

In view of the pro-poor initiative announced by the Government of India, the Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Anna Yojana (PMGKAY) has been announced by the Government of India to overcome the hardship caused to the poor due to the economic disruption caused by the Corona virus.

As of May 17, 2021, all 36 states / union territories have raised 31.80 lakh metric tonnes of food grains from the Food Corporation of India depot. Lakshadweep has taken full allocated food grains for May and June 2021. 15 States / Union Territories ie Andhra Pradesh, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa,

Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Ladakh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Tripura, allotted for May 2021 Has achieved 100 percent food grains.

All the States / Union Territories have been made aware to receive and distribute free food grains in a time bound manner under PMGKAY.
Under this scheme, about 79.39 crore beneficiaries covered under the National Food Security Act-NFSA are being provided additional food grains at the rate of 5 kg per person per month for a period of two months i.e. May-June 2021. This allocation is in addition to the regular NFSA allocation and 79.39 LMT food grains are to be released under this scheme.
The Government of India will bear the entire expenditure of more than Rs 26,000 crore for the cost of food grains and inter-state transport etc. as part of central assistance to the States / Union Territories.

Earlier, the Government of India provided free food grains to NFSA beneficiaries under PMGKAY-Dh (April-June 2020) and PMGKAY-Dh (July-November 2020), under which 104 LMT wheat and 201 LMT rice, a total of 305 LMT food grains. Was successfully supplied by FCI to the Government of the respective States / Union Territories.